2013 Winners

Design awards 2013 Winners

The Architects for Health awards, now in their second year, were presented on Tuesday evening at the IHEEM conference in Manchester, by Susan Francis, AfH Programme Director.

Out of a total of 60 entries submitted by AfH members, with schemes ranging from small scale refurbishment to large scale new-build Hospitals, in locations from across the UK to China to Australia. We were able to select our winners from the six short-listed finalists.

In reverse order the awards were presented, as follows:-

IHEEMClaudiaThe Bronze AfH award was presented to Claudia Bloom of Avanti Architects, for their Torbay Hospital design competition winning scheme, as one reflecting the benefits of creativity and innovative thinking applied to an existing Estate.


IHEEMRoyThe Silver AfH award was presented to Roy Carroll of BDP, for their Hampshire Cancer Treatment Centre, design competition winning entry, as a conceptual scheme which succeeded in achieving the highly aspirational brief of a building of outstanding architectural merit whilst maintaining a focus on the feel of the interior.


IHEEMChristopherAnd finally….the Gold AfH award for 2013 was presented to Christopher Shaw of Medical Architecture, for Adelaide based Glenside Health services, where they worked in collaboration with Australian local architects Swanbury Penglase. This is a completed scheme which reflects the ethos of AfH through an exemplary solution, once again raising the profile of mental health design within a community of individual buildings arranged around a ‘village green’.

Thank you to all who entered and supported this year’s awards.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're OK with this, but you can opt out if you wish.